Call for Nominations for the 2021 Judy Mappin Community Award

Posted on: 1 July, 2021

Category: Calls for Submissions, QWF Awards

The Quebec Writers’ Federation is now accepting written nominations from members of the community for the Judy Mappin Community Award. The prize is named for the first recipient of the QWF Community Award in 1995, who quietly but fiercely promoted generations of Canadian writers in her long career as a bookseller at The Double Hook bookstore in Westmount, Quebec.

This award is given to a member of the extended literary community who has made a significant and longstanding contribution to the development and/or dissemination of English-language literature in Quebec. Candidates must be living at the time of their nomination, and those who have already won the award are not eligible.

Criteria for Nomination:

  • Proposed nominees must have made their contributions to the community for a period of ten years or more (provide evidence of the duration of your nominee’s contribution).
  • The work of the nominee must have furthered English-language literature in Quebec (describe how your nominee’s work has contributed towards the development and/or dissemination of that literature).
  • The nominee’s work must have been unique and/or of long-lasting value to the community.
  • Nominees who are in the business of publishing, promoting, or teaching literature must have gone beyond the boundaries of their job description to enrich the English-language literary community.

How to Submit:
To submit a nomination, please send the name of your candidate and a 500-word description of relevant activities, corresponding to the criteria above, to Lori Schubert. Your name should be clearly indicated in the document.  

Nominations may also include a CV, indicating the nominees’ activities over the course of their career.

Please note that decisions will be made based on the thoroughness and quality of the applications as well as the qualifications of the candidates.

The QWF retains the right not to award the prize in a given year should no outstanding candidate be put forward. If a prize is awarded this year, it will be presented at the QWF Awards Gala in November 2021.

The deadline for nominations is Friday, August 27, 2021

For more information, please write to Lori Schubert.