Awards Overview

The winners of the 2023 QWF Literary Awards were announced at the QWF Gala on Monday, November 13.

Click the prize names below to view individual winners, or read the announcement to see all the winners.

Publishers: You can be added to the email list for future correspondence about the Awards by completing the form in the box “Attention aux éditeurs / Attention Publishers” on this page.

QWF administers various awards programs to acknowledge the fine work being done by Quebec’s aspiring, emerging, and established authors and, in the case of the Judy Mappin Community Award, members of the larger literary community. Literary awards encourage talented young writers to carry on with their careers and give them a credential that may help them get the attention of an agent or publisher. For more established writers, they help raise their profile outside of their home community and generate additional book sales.

La QWF décerne différents prix qui soulignent la qualité du travail des auteurs à toutes les étapes de leur carrière, qu’ils soient en devenir ou bien établis. De plus, le Judy Mappin Community Award rend hommage aux membres de la communauté littéraire au sens large. Ces marques de reconnaissances encouragent les jeunes écrivains talentueux à poursuivre leur carrière en les aidant à attirer l’attention d’un agent ou d’un éditeur, tandis que dans le cas des écrivains qui ont déjà publié des œuvres, les prix aident à accroître leur notoriété à l’extérieur de leur cercle et à augmenter les ventes de leurs œuvres.

The QWF Literary Awards /
Les Prix Littéraires QWF

Publishers: You can be added to the email list for future correspondence about the Awards by completing the form in the box “Attention aux éditeurs / Attention Publishers” on this page.

The specifics for each prize can be found below.

Message aux éditeurs : Pour être ajoutés à notre liste d’envoi et recevoir notre correspondance par courriel, nous vous invitons à remplir le formulaire dans la section « Attention aux éditeurs / Attention Publishers » sur cette page.

La description de chaque prix se trouve ci-dessous.

Special Prizes

carte blanche Prize

The carte blanche Prize is awarded once a year in recognition of an outstanding submission to QWF’s online literary journal, carte blanche, by a Quebec writer, artist, or translator. Winners receive a cash prize and a unique trophy—“The Lori”—created by Montreal artist Glen LeMesurier.  

The 2023 winner has been announced.
View the winner

Judy Mappin Community Award

This award is given to a member of the extended literary community who has made a significant and longstanding contribution to the development and/or dissemination of English-language literature in Quebec. It is named for the first recipient of QWF's Community Award in 1995, who quietly but fiercely promoted generations of Canadian writers in her long career as a bookseller at the now-defunct Double Hook bookstore in Westmount, Quebec.

The 2023 winner has been announced.
View the winner

The Max Margles Fiction Prize

The Max Margles Fiction Prize will be awarded to a writer of prose fiction who is a resident of Quebec and whose writing practice is primarily in English. The winner will receive $8,500. The award is designed to enable one writer to work on a specific solo writing project between April 1 and October 31, 2022.

The winner has been announced.
View the winner

The QWF College Writers Award

QWF established a prize for young writers in 2017. In 2021, it was relaunched as the QWF College Writers Award. It will be awarded to a Quebec resident who is enrolled in one of the sponsoring colleges: Champlain, Dawson, Heritage, John Abbott, Marianopolis, and Vanier. The prize goes to the author of the best short story, poem, or work of non-fiction written in English and published in an official literary publication during the previous calendar year. Work can be submitted either by the author or by the journal in which the submission was published, and there is no limit to the number of submissions per publication or writer.

The 2022 winner has been announced.
View the winner



Inauguration of the QWF Spoken Word Prize
QWF Prize for Playwriting awarded at 2018 gala


Inauguration of the QWF Prize for Playwriting
Lori Schubert at 2017 awards gala


carte blanche turns ten years old
MacDonald at 2013 gala


QWF celebrates fifteen years
Audience at 2010 gala


The QWF Awards Trophy is unveiled, thanks to an anonymous donor. Designer: Anick Blais
Image from 2011 awards gala


First book prize named "Concordia University First Book Prize"
Programs at 2010 awards gala


Translation prize named "Cole Foundation Prize for Translation "
Heather O'Neill and Adam Gollner at 2008 awards gala


Inauguration of the QWF Prize for Children’s and Young Adult Literature
Linda Morra and Jason Camlot at 2011 awards gala


First Book award named "McAuslan First Book Prize"
Audience at 2013 awards gala


QSPELL Prizes renamed QWF Awards Non-fiction prize named "Mavis Gallant Prize for Non-fiction" Inauguration of the Translation prize
Audience at 2010 awards gala


Inauguration of the First Book award
Two attending smiling at 2013 awards gala


Poetry prize named "A.M. Klein Prize for Poetry"
Attending laughing at an awards gala in the 1990s


Fiction prize named "Hugh MacLennan Prize for Fiction"
Plant image taken in 1990


QSPELL Prizes established in three categories: Fiction, Nonfiction and Poetry