Loading Events

Time: 12:00 - 13:30

Date: 20 April, 2021

Event Category: Events , Other

Website: https://spokenweb.ca/events/

Location: Online

Organizer: SpokenWeb, View Organizer Website

This online panel presentation will use the recent volume, Podcasting: New Aural Cultures and Digital Media (ed. Dario Llinares, Neil Fox, Richard Berry) as an opportunity to think and engage in discussion about the emergence of podcasting as a field of critical study. Hosted by SpokenWeb podcast series director Hannah McGregor, the session will open with a presentation by one of the editors of the scholarly collection on Podcasting, Dario Llinares, in which he presents some of the main theses about podcasting presented in the book, and reflects on how the landscape of research around podcasting is rapidly developing. We will then hear brief position papers from respondents Stacey Copeland (SFU), Elena Razlogova (Concordia U), Kim Fox (American University in Cairo), Michael O’Driscoll (U Alberta) and Deanna Fong (Concordia U), sharing perspectives on podcasting as a field of scholarly research and practice. The discussion will then open up to questions and participation from attendees.

 

Attendees are invited to read the introduction to Podcasting: New Aural Cultures and Digital Media in advance of the session (but that is not required!). At Concordia, the e-book is available here: https://link-springer-com.lib-ezproxy.concordia.ca/book/10.1007/978-3-319-90056-8

 

Date: Tuesday, April 20th, 2021

Time: 12pm EST [9am Pacific, 4pm UK, 6pm Cairo]

Platform: Zoom, RSVP to mailto:j_valenc@live.concordia.ca

PRESENTED BY SpokenWeb and The Media History Research Centre (MHRC) at Concordia University

Join Waitlist We will inform you of any newly available spots for this workshop via email. Please note: once you receive the notice of availability, you will have 48hrs to register —or 24hrs if the workshop begins in a week or less— before the spot is made available to the next person.
Email We won't share your address with anybody else.