The 2022 QWF Literary Awards Calls for Submissions Are Now Open!

Posted on: 9 March, 2022

Category: QWF Awards, QWF News

The Quebec Writers’ Federation is delighted to announce the calls for submissions for the 2022 QWF Awards to honour excellence in the categories of fiction, non-fiction, poetry, first book, translation, children’s and young adult literature, and playwriting.

Seven prizes of $3000 each will be awarded at the 24th QWF Awards Gala on Monday, November 14, 2022 at the Cabaret Lion d’Or, Montreal. Save the date!

Please scroll down for links to the individual Calls for Submissions, from which you can access the corresponding Submission Form for each of the prizes. It is essential that you read the details of the call for submissions carefully to ensure that the book is eligible. Criteria can change from year to year.

Each submission must be accompanied by a completed Submission Form and a non-refundable fee of $25. 

Registration fees can be paid online.

Those who are submitting a book for the Concordia University First Book Prize, you may simultaneously submit the book for the fiction, non-fiction or poetry prize, but you must complete the two separate forms for the prizes you’re submitting to and pay two separate submission fees.

We wish you luck and hope to see you in November!

The 2022 QWF Literary Awards

The A.M. Klein Prize for Poetry

Sponsored by Byron Rempel

The Mavis Gallant Prize for Non-Fiction

The Paragraphe Hugh MacLennan Prize for Fiction

Sponsored by Paragraphe Bookstore

The Concordia University First Book Prize

QWF is proud to have its First Book Prize sponsored by Concordia University, which offers the only BA and MA English-language Creative Writing programs in Quebec.

If applying for two awards (i.e. First Book & Fiction), please note that only EIGHT (not ten) physical copies need to be posted to the QWF Office.

Prix de traduction de la Fondation Cole : anglais-français

Le prix de 2022 sera remis à un livre traduit de l’anglais au français. En 2023, le prix sera remis à un livre traduit du français à l’anglais. Les deux sous-catégories continuent d’alterner chaque année et chaque sous-catégorie a une période d’admissibilité de deux ans. Il est important de noter que les deux sous-catégories ont des critères d’admissibilité très différents.

The 2022 prize will be given for a book translated from English to French. Next year, it will be given to a book translated from French to English.

The Janet Savage Blachford Prize for Children’s and Young Adult Literature: Picture Books and Books for Beginning Readers

This year, the prize will be awarded to the author of the eligible book of fiction, non-fiction or poetry in the sub-category of picture books and books for beginning readers that the jury deems to have made the most significant contribution of the year to the body of Quebec English-language children’s literature. Longer chapter books, middle-grade and young adult literature published this year and next may be submitted next year for the 2023 Janet Savage Blachford Prize for Children’s and Young Adult Literature.

QWF Prize for Playwriting

Sponsored by Gabriel Safdie, in conjunction with Infinithèâtre

This prize is awarded every two years. The winning play will be given a reading in Infinithéâtre’s 2022-2023 season as part of its “Pipeline” series.

The QWF gratefully acknowledges the generosity of our Awards sponsors:

This image has an empty alt attribute; its file name is paragraphe_logo-430x208-2.jpg
Concordia University Logo