The 2021 QWF Literary Awards Calls for Submissions Are Now Open!

Posted on: 19 March, 2021

Category: QWF Awards, QWF News



The Quebec Writers’ Federation is delighted to announce the calls for submissions for the 2021 QWF Awards. 

At the 23rd QWF Gala in November 2021, QWF will award six prizes of $3000 each to honour excellence in the categories of fiction, non-fiction, poetry, first book, translation, and children’s and young adult literature. (An additional prize for playwriting, with a two-year eligibility period, is awarded in even-numbered years.) The 2021 prizes will be awarded at this year’s QWF Gala, Wednesday, November 24, 2021. Save the date!

Please find below links for individual Calls for Submissions, from which you can access the corresponding Submission Form for each of the prizes. It is essential that you read the details of the call for submissions to ensure the book is eligible. The book or books must be submitted with a complete Submission Form and a non-refundable fee of $25 per book submitted. 

NEW IN 2021: Registration fees can now be paid online!

Submitters, please read the appropriate call for submissions carefully, as the eligibility criteria have been slightly modified over the past couple of years.

Those who are submitting a book for the Concordia University First Book Prize, you may simultaneously submit the book for the fiction, non-fiction or poetry prize, but you must complete the two separate forms for the prizes you’re submitting to and pay two separate submission fees.

Please scroll down for a list of the six QWF Literary Awards and for direct access to each Call for Submissions. You can access submission forms directly from the appropriate call for submissions. Or, click on the Awards Overview button for general information on each prize.

We wish you luck, and hope to see you in November, if not before!

The 2021 QWF Literary Awards

The A.M. Klein Prize for Poetry

The Mavis Gallant Prize for Non-Fiction

The Paragraphe Hugh MacLennan Prize for Fiction

Sponsored by Paragraphe Bookstore

The Concordia University First Book Prize

QWF is proud to have its First Book Prize sponsored by Concordia University, which offers the only BA and MA English-language Creative Writing programs in Quebec.

If applying for two awards (i.e. First Book & Fiction), please note that only TWO physical copies should be posted to the QWF Office.

The Cole Foundation Prize for Translation: French to English

The 2021 prize will be given for a book translated from French to English. Next year, it will be given to a book translated from English to French.

The Janet Savage Blachford Prize for Children’s and Young Adult Literature: Longer Chapter Books, Middle-Grade and Young Adult Literature

This year, the prize will be awarded to the author of the eligible book of fiction, non-fiction or poetry in the sub-category of longer chapter books, middle-grade and young adult literature that the jury deems to have made the most significant contribution of the year to the body of Quebec English-language children’s literature. Picture books with text and beginner reading books published this year and next may be submitted next year for the 2022 QWF Prize for Children’s and Young Adult Literature.

The QWF gratefully acknowledges the generosity of our Awards sponsors: