1990s Awards Gala

Award winners

Le Prix de traduction de la Fondation Cole / The Cole Foundation Prize for Translation


Self (XYZ éditeur) by  Hélène Rioux
Translation of
Self (Faber and Faber) by  Yann Martel
These Festive Nights (House of Anans) by  Sheila Fischman
Translation of
Soifs (Éditions du Boréal) by  Marie-Claire Blais

The A. M. Klein Prize for Poetry

The Concordia University First Book Prize

The Paragraphe Hugh MacLennan Prize for Fiction


The Timekeeper (HarperCollins) by  Trevor Ferguson
Butterfly Lovers (HarperCollins) by  Charles Foran
Evil Eye (Véhicule) by  Ann Diamond
Barney’s Version (Alfred A. Knopf Canada) by  Mordecai Richler
A Night at the Opera (Porcupine’s Quill) by  Ray Smith
Can You Wave Bye Bye, Baby? (McClelland & Stewart) by  Elyse Gasco

Judy Mappin Community Award


Mireille Goulet for the commitment and professionalism she displayed in her work for the Electronic Rights Defence Committee
Simon Dardick and Nancy Marrelli for their work at Véhicule Press
Shelley Pomerance for her work promoting literature and writers at CBC Radio
Bryan Demchinsky for his work promoting local authors as Books editor of the Montreal Gazette
Judith Mappin for her role in founding QSPELL and its prizes, her tireless work as a bookseller who promoted local authors, and her visionary role in the creation of a genuine Canadian literature in both the French and English languages